Work in Parliament

Our work with the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Primary Headache Disorders

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Primary Headache Disorders



The APPG on Primary Headache Disorders is a group of MPs and peers from across the parties with an interest in primary headache disorders. The group provides a forum for parliamentarians to discuss the issues affecting people with migraine and other headache disorders. The group is supported by Headache UK, and The Migraine Trust provides the secretariat.

A number of parliamentarians have committed to supporting the group. The following officers were elected at the group’s 2015 AGM:

Chair: Jim Fitzpatrick MP (Labour)
Vice Chairs: Lord Rea (Labour), Viscount Simon (Labour), Pauline Latham MP (Conservative)
Secretary: Baroness Masham of Ilton (Crossbench)

Next Meeting:


How to get involved

The group holds meetings and hears from expert speakers in the House of Commons throughout the year. Previous meeting topics have focused on research, headache services and diagnosis. Meetings are open to the public and include the opportunity for Q&A. If you would like to join the group’s mailing list please fill out the form below to receive invites and updates.

Help us to raise the profile of migraine and other headache disorders by contacting your MP and informing them of the APPG’s work.

You may want to highlight a particular issue in their constituency, invite them to an upcoming meeting or ask them to take action on your behalf. MPs are only obliged to reply to people living in their constituency.

Previous Meetings

Archived meeting minutes are available here

Reports and Publications

The APPG produces documents, reports and makes recommendations on key issues addressed by the group.